

# <u>FINAL</u>

MINUTES – ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of The Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Association of Ontario Wednesday, February 15<sup>th</sup>, 2017 – 3:15 p.m. – 6:05 p.m. Held at Anne Johnston Health Station 2398 Yonge Street, 2<sup>nd</sup> floor, Toronto

# PRESENT:

At the beginning of the AGM there were 7 MEAO Members in attendance and 6 proxies. After reconsideration from the Board, 6 more voters where added.

Therefore, a total of 19 voters participated in the 2017 AGM.

List of Voting Members:

List attached.

## 1. Call to Order

Keith Deviney, President of MEAO extended a welcome to all members and introduced the current board members and Wafaa Arbaji, MEAO's administrative assistant.

Adrianna Tetley, Board member called the meeting to order at 3:24 p.m.

Irene Turrin, MEAO member raised a Point of Order, to challenge the position that only members who had paid up membership as of December 31 2016 be allowed to vote. She stated that this was a change in past practice and no notice was provided to inform members of this change prior to Dec 31<sup>st.</sup> She requested that the AGM be rescheduled to allow members to join MEAO and vote at the next AGM.

The Board took a recess to consider the input from the members.

Board Decision:

- To allow any member who has current paid up membership fees to vote.
- To allow members with outstanding fees to pay their fees at the 2017 AGM and vote.

A recess was taken to allow members to pay their fees.

After recess there were a total of 19 eligible votes.

Meeting Resumed at 4:15 p.m.

# Motion:

Given the confusion about voting requirements and four years since the last AGM (2012), the AGM should be rescheduled to a later date.

Moved by: Irene Turrin Seconded by: Denise King

A number of members were quite concerned about several aspects of the new By-law, particularly the new mandate, focusing heavily on advocacy and not consistent with the objects of the letters patent.

<u>Discussion</u>: The board recommended that the Business of the AGM continue with the agreement that the by-laws will not be tabled at this time.

## Motion defeated

## 1. Agenda

## Motion:

Be it resolved that the Agenda be approved

Moved by: Denise Magi Seconded by: Keith Deviney Motion Carried (1 abstention)

# 2. Approval of AGM minutes of September 29, 2012

# Motion:

Be it resolved that the Minutes of the Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Association of Ontario (MEAO) Annual General Meeting of September 29, 2012 be approved.

Moved by: Keith Deviney Seconded by: Denise Magi Motion Carried (Unanimous)

## 3. Directors' Report

MEAO Vice-President and Secretary Denise Magi, presented the Directors' Report. This report details the major activities from September 2012 to February 15, 2017. A copy was made available to all present.

A key milestone was the creation by the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care of the Taskforce to make recommendation to treat all three illnesses. The interim report is due in May/June 2017.

An amendment was suggested by one of the members to remove the word "advocacy" from the thank you statement on page 3.

The members thanked MEAO and particularly Denise Magi for her leadership.

# Motion:

Be it resolved that the Directors' Report of the Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Association of Ontario (MEAO) be received.

Moved by: Keith Deviney Seconded by: Denise Magi Motion Carried Unanimous

## 4. Financial Statements of 2012 to 2016

Financial Statements were made available at the meeting.

# Motion:

Be it resolved that the Financial Statements of the Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Association of Ontario (MEAO) as reviewed by chartered accountants, Cowperthwaite Mehta, and as presented for the years ending December 31, 2012, 2015 and 2016, be approved.

Moved by: Adrianna Tetley Seconded by: Keith Deviney Motion Carried - Unanimous

## Motion:

Be it further resolved that for the years 2013 & 2014, at the recommendation of the auditor, no further financial statements or reviews be required.

Moved by: Adrianna Tetley Seconded by: Keith Deviney Motion Carried - 2 opposed

It was requested by a member that 2013 and 2014 financials report from chartered accountants, Cowperthwaite Mehta be made available for review at a future meeting.

# 5. Appointment of Auditor and Motion to Set Fee

## Motion:

Be it resolved that Cowperthwaite Mehta, chartered accountants, be appointed auditors for financial reviews and financial matters for The Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Association of Ontario (MEAO) for the years 2017 and 2018 at the appropriate remuneration as determined by the Board of Directors

Moved by: Denise Magi Seconded by: Adrianna Tetley Motion Carried - Unanimous

# 6. Resolutions: Revised By-laws

- Given some concerns raised by a number of members, the draft By-laws were withdrawn.
- Upon recommendations of the members, the by-laws will be reviewed by a lawyer.
- A special member meeting will be scheduled in fall of 2017 to address the mandate and By-law issues.

# 7. Election of Directors

The members were presented with a written list of nominee biographies and the nominees were introduced.

Keith Deviney (returning member) Denise Magi (returning member) **Motion**: Adrianna Tetley (returning member) Therese Dineen (new member)

Be it resolved that the slate of nominees as presented be the elected directors of The Myalgic Encephalomyelitis Association of Ontario for 2017-2018 to hold office until their office is vacated in accordance with the by-laws of the Corporation.

Moved by: Adrianna Tetley Seconded by: Denise Magi Motion Carried - 2 Opposed, 3 Abstentions

Two members stated that they had submitted their nominations by the deadline of February 3<sup>rd</sup>. The nominees were allowed to stand.

#### Motion:

That Irene Turrin and Jeanne Samonas to be elected directors for MEAO.

Moved by: Jana Saracevic Seconded by: Yvon Helen Hemsol Motion Carried – 10 in favour, 9 abstentions

## 8. Adjournment

## Motion:

Be it resolved the Annual General Meeting for today, February 15<sup>th</sup>, 2017 be adjourned.

Moved by: Keith Deviney Seconded by: Adrianna Tetley Motion Carried – unanimous

# The AGM Adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

# **VOTERS LIST - 2017**

Ayers Dineen Crabbe Cordes Deviney Foster Hemsol Holmes Johnston King MacQuarrie Magi Meitz Morrison Samonas Saracevic Tetley Turrin Vandenbroek

Marie Therese Benita Barbara Keith Lee Yvon Helen Lynn Eleanor Denise Maureen Denise Diane Theresa Jeanne Jana Adrianna Irene Mary - Lou

By Proxy In Person In Person By Proxy In Person By Proxy In Person In Person In Person In Person By Proxy In Person In Person By Proxy In Person In Person In Person In Person By Proxy