

Suite 500, 970 Lawrence Avenue West Toronto, Ontario M6A 3B6

carenowontario.org info@carenowontario.org

Tel: 416-222-8820

Charitable Reg. Number: 892267568RR0001

CareNow Ontario is an organization representing and supporting the medical conditions of Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS), Fibromyalgia (FM) and Environmental Sensitivities

# NOMINATIONS REPORT October 2023

Pursuant to the MEAO by-laws of 2018, the board of CareNow Ontario is a maximum of seven (7) directors. The Board currently has five directors.

# **Board of Directors (2022-23):**

- Denise Magi, President
- · Keith Deviney, Vice President
- John Doherty, Secretary
- Adrianna Tetley, Treasurer
- Laurie Menard, Director

Denise Magi, President, has completed two years of her three-year term.

John Doherty and Keith Deviney have completed one year of their three-year term.

Adrianna Tetley, Treasurer, and Laurie Menard, Director have completed their three-year terms and are eligible to run for a new term.

## Vacancies:

The CareNow Ontario By-laws allow for a board of a maximum of 7 Directors. Therefore, the CareNow Ontario Board is seeking nominations for up to 3 Board members.

Adrianna Tetley and Laurie Menard will be standing for re-election.

A Call for Nominations was issued on August 17, 2023 with a deadline of September 17th 2023 No further nominations from membership were received.

#### **Elections:**

Elections for Adrianna Tetley and Laurie Menard will be held at the 2023 AGM.

### **Bios of Nominees:**

#### **Laurie Menard**

Laurie Menard was appointed by the MEAO Board at its January 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2020 board meeting for a three year term. As per the by-laws, her appointment was ratified at the 2020 AGM and was elected for a three-year term.

Laurie joined the board in January 2020 following retirement from the Waterloo Region Board of Education. Her role as consultant in special education afforded the opportunity to see and to work with many students, family and staff who experienced a variety of health issues including ME, FM and MCS. Primarily her role was working to reduce the impact of multiple chemical sensitivities on students in schools. Additionally, Laurie has been personally managing Fibromyalgia for many years and would like to see appropriate access to services for those affected in our province and looks forward to helping create continued positive outcomes for CareNow Ontario.

# **Adrianna Tetley**

Adrianna Tetley has been a member of MEAO and CareNow Ontario Board of Directors since 2017. She is currently the Treasurer. Adrianna retired as CEO of the Alliance for Healthier Communities in 2020 and continues to be committed to making the time to fulfil the role of Board member for CareNow Ontario.

Adrianna's experience with MEAO and CareNow Ontario dates back to 2012 when the Alliance for Healthier Communities (formerly the Association of Ontario Health Centres (AOHC)) developed a partnership with MEAO to develop the business case for a Centre of Excellence for Environmental Health. During this time, Adrianna learned about the three conditions that MEAO focusses on including ME/CFS, FM and ES/MCS and has become a strong advocate to ensure these conditions are recognized and that a system of care and supports are developed to ensure the people in Ontario living with these conditions have the diagnosis, treatment and support that they need.

Adrianna brings her experience as the Chief Executive Officer to the Board.

Over the course of her 50 year career in community, health and government, Adrianna has developed a deep understanding of how government policy is made and understands the health system. In her career she has developed expertise in membership support, organizational development, government relations, public policy development and not-for-profit charitable governance.